Your Advice Needed for Purchasing a New Photographer's Computer Please

Dragon Graffix is off-line
10 August 2017 07:55
DragonGraffix
Photographer

Hampshire
Portsmouth

Hi Good Folks

Can I pick your brains regarding what make and specification of computers you as photographers are using these days, and where you may suggest I can get a good deal with good service?

I have been using an HP computer running Windows XP for the last 10 years and for the last 5 years it has been attached to an Eizo ColorEdge CG241W monitor.

I just purchased a new HP computer but my images are very highly saturated on it particularly red and skin tones are very unnatural, even after a great deal of manipulation of the monitor settings. After several hours on the phone to HP tech support I will be taking it back to John Lewis where I purchased it.

Any help / advice you can give me in purchasing a good photographers‘ computer would be greatly and gratefully appreciated.

Many thanks

Rob 
"Beauty is how you feel inside, and it reflects in your eyes. It is not something physical." - Sophia Loren

redbaron is onlineSilver Member
10 August 2017 08:21
redbaron
Photographer
redbaron
Buckinghamshire
Stoke Mandeville

My editing computer is a water cooled beast with mirrored drives from Chillblast Had it for a few years now and has taken everything that gets thrown at it day in day out. Nor sure of the model other than they had a few set up specifically for photoshop. The monitor is an Eizo 27" so not a cheap combo. In fairness the monitor I bought with it at the time was not bad for the price

Photography and Studio hire www.immortaleye.co.uk

Steven Jardine is off-linePlatinum Member
10 August 2017 08:33
RedChecker
Photographer
RedChecker
Buckinghamshire
Stoke Mandeville